Home > Useful Information Rome > Districts of Rome

Districts of Rome

The districts of Rome, that's how divided the city inside the city center!

The districts of Rome are the first level of division of the city and place names throughout the centuries have increased to the current number: 22 districts.


Since the Middle Ages the term "district" was used to indicate areas of central Rome that are distinct from the Roman districts, or areas that are located outside the historic center.


This is one of the oldest quarters of Rome, the name derives from the presence in the neighborhood of some of the seven hills of Rome, including the Esquiline, Viminale, Celio and Quirinale. Today Monti area is one of the most frequented by tourists and it includes some of the city's most famous attractions such as the churches of Santa Maria Maggiore, St Praxedes, St Andrew at the Quirinal, St Stephen in the Round, St John in Lateran, St Pudentiana, St Vitale and St Charles at four Fountains. Monti includes also  Colosseum and Vittoriano, connected by the famous Via dei Fori Imperiali, Via Nazionale and Palazzo delle Esposizioni. Among the archaeological sites that are part of Monti district the Domus Aurea and the Thermae of Traiano.


The district Trevi borders Monti district and probably takes its name from the Latin Trivium that was to indicate the confluence of three Roman roads in Piazza di Trevi. The monument most rapresentative is Trevi Fountain, even if the district inclueds also Via del Corso, Barberini Square, Quirinale and the Triton Fountain.

Colonna borders with districts Trevi, Pigna, Campus Martius and Ludovisi. Among the sights and attractions you'll find Colonna Square, which takes its name, Palazzo Chigi, Montecitorio, the Colonna Gallery and Via del Corso.

4-Campo Marzio
Among the attractions that are part of Campo Marzio you'll find People Square and Pincio, the church of Our Lady of the People, Spain Square, Via dei Condotti, Via Margutta and Trinità dei Monti.

The district Ponte takes its name from the Ponte Sant'Angelo, later incorporated in the Borgo district. The district is bordered by the Tevere, Sant'Eustachio, Parione and Regola and includes the following attractions: Via Giulia and Palazzo Altemps.


The district is characterized by the famous emblem of the Griffo and bordering with Saint Eustachio, Regola and Ponte. Among the attractions which are part of the district Parione are Campo dei Fiori, Navona Square and the church of St Mary in Vallicella.

The district takes its name from "renula" the sand that characterizes the banks of the river Tiber. The district is bordered by Saint Eustace, Parione, and Ponte Sant'Angelo and includes many attractions such as Palazzo Farnese, Campo de 'Fiori and the Galleria Spada.

Among the historic and religious buildings that are part of the area of ​​the district are Palazzo Madama, Valle Theater, St Ivo at Sapienza, Sant'Andrea della Valle, St. Louis of France and St. Augustine.

The district takes its name from the emblem that represents it, just a pine cone, and is located in the area that was once defined as the Campus Martius. Pigna district are part of the Pantheon, Largo Argentina and Piazza Venezia.

It takes its name from ancient Rome Capitolium the place where once stood the temple dedicated to Jupiter, Juno and Minerva. Campitelli district are part of the Capitol Square, Palatine Hill and the Basilica of Saints Cosmas and Damian.
And 'the smallest of the districts and is located in the Roman Jewish Ghetto and the Synagogue. Among the monuments of Sant'Angelo district there is the Theatre of Marcellus, the Portico of Octavia and the Basilica of St. Nicholas in Prison.
The district includes the Tiber Island Ripa, churches and buildings on the Aventine Hill including Piazza of the Knights of Malta, Priory of Santa Maria, Santa Maria in Cosmedin, St. George in Velabro and the Mouth of Truth.
Known as one of the most popular and busiest districts of Rome, Trastevere derives its name from cross Tiberim, which means beyond the Tiber. Among the attractions of the district you can visit the Basilica of Santa Maria in Trastevere, the Museo di Roma in Trastevere, the Botanical Garden and the Janiculum.

14 - Via Borgo: Via della Conciliazione, Castel Sant'Angelo Ponte Sant'Angelo, St. Peter's Basilica.
District 15-Esquiline: Porta Maggiore, Santa Croce in Gerusalemme, Museum of the Grenadiers

16 - Ludovisi: Via Veneto
17 - Sallustiano
18 - Castro Pretorio: Piazza della Repubblica, Via Nazionale, Porta Pia, Santa Maria degli Angeli and the National Roman Museum.
19-Celio: Santa Maria in Domenica, Colosseum and Arch of Constantine
20-Testaccio: A-Catholic Cemetery and Museum of the Via Ostia

21 - San Saba: Basilica of San Saba and the Baths of Caracalla
22 - Meadows: Via Cola di Rienzo


There are no advices. Login to insert a new one!

Social Advices